Answers to questions about marriage license applications
Following are answers to common questions about applying for a marriage license.
Court employees can answer general questions about the process, but they can’t answer questions about the law or give legal advice. If you have a legal question or you need legal advice, you must ask an attorney.
How much does a license cost?
A marriage license is $85.50. You will also be charged a $2.14 fee if you pay by credit or debit card, or a $1.25 fee if you pay by electronic check.
Am I required to submit documents or show identification when I apply for a marriage license?
What if I don't know the date of my divorce?
Enter 99/99/9999 as the date.
What if I don't have a Social Security number?
Enter 999-99-9999 as the number.
How long is the marriage license valid, or how long before it expires?
A marriage license is valid for six months from the date it is issued by the clerk. If you do not get married within that six months, you must apply for a new marriage license.
Are there age requirements to get a marriage license?
You must be 18 years old to get a marriage license, unless you have permission from a parent, guardian, or a judge.
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you will need a parent or guardian to complete the consent form. A judge may give consent if both of your parents are deceased and you do not have a legal guardian.
If you are 15 years old, a judge may give consent and issue the marriage license if the marriage is in your best interests. Otherwise, a license will not be issued to anyone under age 16.
If I am 16 or 17, how do I show my parent or guardian’s consent to get married?
Apply for the marriage license first. If you are 16 or 17, the court clerk will send you a consent form.
Who can perform a marriage ceremony?
Kansas law (K.S.A. 23-2504) lists who is authorized to perform a marriage ceremony. Generally, the list includes:
clergy of a religious denomination;
licensees of church or religious denomination;
current and retired judges; or
the parties, in some circumstances.
Do I need to give the name of the officiant when I apply for my license?
I want a judge to perform the ceremony. How do I ask for that?
Contact the court in the county where you want to be married. In Kansas, judges are not required to perform marriage ceremonies. Judges can choose to perform marriage ceremonies and to charge a fee for the service. Visit District Courts for contact information.
What is a proxy marriage?
It is a marriage ceremony where the individuals getting married are not in the same physical location during the ceremony.
Will the Office of Vital Statistics accept a proxy marriage?
Yes, as long as the officiant and one party are in Kansas and two witnesses are able to view the ceremony.
Can I apply for a Kansas marriage license if I live in Kansas but plan to get married in another state?
No. Apply for a marriage license in the state where you plan to get married.
Will the Office of Vital Statistics accept electronic signatures from the officiant and the witnesses?
What if I don’t have an officiant?
Kansas law (K.S.A. 23-2504) allows for two people to announce they take each other as husband and wife and be married without an authorized officiant.
How do I change my name?
Complete the section on the application for name change. Make sure you enter your name exactly as you want it to be.
If I don’t say I want to change my last name when I file the marriage license application, can I do it later?
Yes. You will need to file a petition with the district court asking that your name be changed. Also, you will need to pay a filing fee.
What happens after I apply for a marriage license?
Once you submit your marriage license application, an alert is sent to the court clerk. The clerk processes the application and creates the marriage license to send to you. Processing can take two weeks from the date of your application.
How long will it take to get a marriage license?
Allow at least two weeks from the date of your application.
How do I find out the status of my marriage license?
Contact the court in the county where you applied. Visit the District Courts page to find court contact information.
Do I need to know the date I will get married when I apply for my marriage license?
No. However, the license expires six months after it is issued.
Can I apply for and get my marriage license the same day?
No. You can't get a marriage license the same day you apply. Plan to apply at least two weeks before your wedding date.
Can I get married before I receive the license?
I received our marriage license from the court and noticed something is misspelled. How do I get that corrected before the ceremony?
Contact the court in the county where you applied. You can respond to the email you received from the clerk with your license. Tell the clerk what needs to be corrected. The clerk will make the correction and re-issue the license to you. Do not wait until after the ceremony to ask for the correction.
After the wedding, I noticed a misspelling on my marriage license. How do I get that corrected?
Contact the Office of Vital Statistics Amendment Unit to correct the marriage certificate. There may be a charge for making this change. Do not contact the court because the clerk can't make the change after the ceremony.
What should I do with our marriage license after the ceremony?
The license must be returned to the court that issued it to you. You must return it within 10 days of your marriage. Either you or the officiant can return the completed marriage license to the court using one of these methods:
mail it to the court by U.S. mail;
attach a digital copy of the completed license to an email responding to the original email you received from the court; or
seal it in an envelope and place the envelope in the court drop box.
Do I need to appear in court to get my license? This online application says "By submitting this marriage license application, I recognize that I have personally appeared before the clerk or a judge for the purpose of issuance of a license. I declare (or verify, certify, or state) under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct."
No. When you electronically sign your marriage license application, it is treated as if you appeared in person. You are not required to visit the courthouse.
How do I get a certified copy of my marriage certificate?
You must wait at least two weeks after the ceremony before you request a certified copy of the marriage certificate. To request the certified copy, contact:
Office of Vital Statistics
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
What if I don’t have an email address?
Contact the district court in your county for more information.